Total Pageviews

Thursday, January 26, 2012

TSKK awards to Cyriaco Dias, Irene Cardozo, Marcos, Fr. Ave Maria, Bro. Eusebio

Thomas Stephens Konknni Kendr (TSKK) conferred its following annual awards during a public function which was held at TSKK premises on 26th January 2012 at 5.30 pm sharp.

Mandd Sobhann Gurkar and the General Secretary of Global Konknni Organization, Mr. Eric Ozario was the Chief Guest and Fr. Rosario Rocha, S.J. the Jesuit Provincial of the Goa Province was the Guest of Honour. Dr. Pratap Naik, S.J. and Dr. Chandralekha D’Souza compered the function. Chandralekha D’Souza delivered the welcome speech. Michael Gracias, Vincy Quadros, Salvador Fernandes, Walter Menezes, Brenda Menezes and Cosma Fernandes gave introduction of the Chief Guest, Guest of Honour and recipients of the awards. Fr. Efraim Gracias gave the vote of thanks. Mother Teresa Brass Band troupe from Honavar, Karnataka entertained the guests with its lively Konknni music. Rabin D’Pietro sang two songs from Amchem Noxib and Nirmonn Konknni films.
In his speech Eric Ozario stressed the need of research in various fields of Konknni and highlighted TSKK’s great contribution to Konknni language, research and movement. TSKK is the only institution which is fully dedicated for research in Konknni. He stressed the point that TSKK should continue the five centuries old Jesuit tradition of scholarship.

TSKK selected Mr. Cyriaco Dias, the veteran well known Tiatrist and Konknni film artist and the freedom fighter for his life time contribution to Konknni stage and films, for the prestigious Antonio Pereira Konknni Puroskar (APKP) 2012. He has acted in more than 1000 tiatrs. He has also acted in Konknni films Amchem Noxib, Nirmonn, Bhuierantlo Monis and Kantteanlem Ful. He has won 14 Best Actor awards and Tiatr Academy’s Life Time Achievement award in the year 2009. The APKP award consists of a shawl, memento, traditional turban and cash Rs. 25,000/-.

Jack Sequeira Konknni Puroskar 2011 was conferred on Fr. Ave Maria Afonso for his contribution to Konknni in Roman script. The award consists of a shawl, memento and cash Rs. 5,000/-. Fr. Ave is currently the parish priest of Ucassaim Church. He is a silent and dedicated Konknni writer.

TSKK chose Mrs. Irene Cardozo as the first recipient of Basila Carvalho Konknni Puroskar 2011. She is a teacher by profession and now she has retired as a headmistress. Side by side teaching career she entered Konknni stage as an actress and singer in the year 1967. The award consists of a shawl, memento and cash Rs. 5,000/-.

Br. Eusebio Miranda of Pilar Society was chosen as the first recipient for Maria Afonso Konknni Puroskar 2011 for his contribution to Konknni journalism in Roman script. The award consists of a shawl, memento and cash Rs. 5,000/-. Br. Eusebio has worked in Pilar Printing Press and for Vavraddeancho Ixtt, the well known Konknni weekly for more than 25 years. At present he is the sub-editor of Ixtt.

Ever year TSKK selects the best Konknni book of the year written in Roman script and gives Konknni Martir Floriano Vaz Puroskar. In the year 2011 there were 11 Konknni books which qualified to be considered for the award. The Konknni essay book Tornni Xim’ of Mr. Marcos Gonsalves was chosen for Konknni Martir Floriano Vaz Puroskar 2011. The award consists of a memento and cash Rs. 5,000/-.
Marcos Gonsalves is the news reporter of Konknni daily Sunaparant.

Besides, the awards, during the function TSKK distributed Lourenço & Umbelina de Scholarship of Rs. 2,000/- to Ms. Anna Fernandes, XI Std. student of Don Bosco School, Panaji; Helen Baptista Scholarships of Rs. 2,000/- each for opting Konknni as a third language to Ms. Sabiya Dukandar and Master Taufiq Badekhan IX students of Govt. High School, Alto Porvorim; Quadros Family Scholarship of Rs. 2000/-for scoring the highest marks in Konknni among Catholic students for the X Std. examination conducted by the Goa Secondary Board was given to Ms. Wilma Fernandes of Holy cross Institute, Quepem.

Antonio Pereira Konknni Puroskar (APKP) recipient Cyriaco Dias in his speech praised TSKK for its vision and dedication to Konknni. He said that he never imagined that one day he would be honoured with Antonio Pereira Konknni Puroskar for which he had collected funds when he was working in Gulf. On behalf of the recipients Irene Cardozo addressed the gathering. Approximately 300 benefactors, friends, well wishers TSKK’s, lovers of Konknni and of TSKK were present for the award function.

 Pratapananda Naik, sj
Joint Director (Academic and Research)
Thomas Stephens Konknni Kendr
B.B.Borkar Road
Alto Porvorim
Goa - 403 521, INDIA
Phone: (91-832) 2415857, 2415864
E-ID: <>
Cell: 9850658565

open air
On hot seat
Marcos Gonsalves
Fr. Ave Maria Afonso
Br. Eusebio Miranda
Irene Cardozo
Cyriaco Dias


Video 1 (Awards Presentations at the hands of Eric Ozario)
Video 2 ( Rabin D'Pietro singing NIRMON film song)